Official March 17, 2020 Primary Election Results
Statement on Unsolicited Applications

We’ve received multiple calls and emails expressing concerns over mailings of absentee application postcards to voters. These do not come from the Geauga County Board of Elections. We have no control over who mails what to voters. We will fulfill any completed applications which comply with the requirements of Ohio Revised Code 3509.03.

If you are unhappy with having received an unsolicited application, we suggest not using it, instead printing an application from our website, or calling us at 440-279-2030 to request an application.

Handwritten Absentee Ballot Instructions

Include the following information in a letter to us at the Geauga County Board of Elections:

  1. Full name
  2. Your date of birth
  3. Full registration address
  4. (optional) Mailing address if different from your registration address
  5. One of the following
    1. Ohio driver license number
    2. Last four digits of Social Security Number
    3. Copy of an acceptable form of voter identification
  6. Write the following statement:  I am a qualified elector and I’m requesting an absentee ballot for the March 17 2020 Ohio Primary
  7. Specify which ballot you want to receive. Choose only ONE. Your options:
    1. Democratic
    2. Republican
    3. Libertarian
    4. Issues Only
  8. Sign your name and date the letter

Mail your letter to:
Geauga County Board of Elections
470 Center St. Building 6A
Chardon OH 44024

Call 440-279-2044 for more information
Calendar of Events
Date Event
Every third Thursday of each month unless otherwise noted, 9:00 a.m. Geauga County Board of Elections Meeting, 470 Center Street, Building 6-A, Chardon, Ohio 44024
Tuesday, August 11, 2020, 9:00 AM

Special Meeting

The Geauga County Board of Elections will hold a Special Meeting on 11 August at 9:00 AM at the Geauga County Board of Elections. This meeting will replace the Regular meeting Scheduled for August 20th, which has been CANCELLED.

Directors and Board Members
Pete Zeigler, (440) 279-2037
Deputy Director:
Michelle D. Lane, (440) 279-2032
Board Members:
Edward M. Ryder, Chairman
Janet M. Carson
Dennis M. Pavella
Joan A. Windnagel
Board Office Information
470 Center Street, Building #6-A
Chardon, Ohio 44024
Direct:  440-279-2030
440-285-2222, Extension 2030
Newbury & Burton Residents:  1-888-714-0006, Extension 2030
Fax #:
Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.